Diagnosing Substance Use

Warning: curl_exec() has been disabled for security reasons in /home/nishanfo/public_html/ibd/wp-content/plugins/weptile-image-slider-widget/weptile-image-slider-widget.php on line 968


The DSM-5 establishes nine types of Substance-Related Disorders:

  1. Alcohol
  2. Caffeine*
  3. Cannabis (e.g., marijuana)
  4. Hallucinogens
  5. Inhalants
  6. Opioid (e.g., heroin)
  7. Sedatives, Hypnotics, or Anxiolytics (e.g., valium)
  8. Stimulants (cocaine, methamphetamine)
  9. Tobacco

*Substance use disorder does not apply to caffeine.

Regardless of the particular substance, the diagnosis of a substance use disorder is based upon a pathological set of behaviors related to the use of that substance. These behaviors fall into four main categories:

  1. Impaired control
  2. Social impairment
  3. Risky use
  4. Pharmacological indicators (tolerance and withdrawal)

If a person is experiencing withdrawal symptoms at the time they are being evaluated for treatment, they will be diagnosed with both substance use and substance withdrawal. A person needs to meet at least 2 of these criteria to be diagnosed with a substance-use disorder. The severity of addiction is determined by the number of criteria met.

Explore More Here:

Multi-Drug Testing Kit

Motivational Interviewing

Clinical Interview

Psychological Assessment Test

Facebook Comments

1 thought on “Diagnosing Substance Use

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *